UGC grants autonomous status to 5 Christian colleges in Bangalore

Bangalore – Ten prominent colleges in Bangalore, Karnataka, including five Christian colleges, have been granted autonomous status by the University Grants Commission (UGC), as part of efforts to reform higher education, Christian Today has confirmed.

The institutions that will now enjoy autonomy are Jyothi Nivas College, St. Joseph’s College, St. Joseph’s Evening College, St. Joseph’s College of Commerce, Mount Carmel College – all run by the Church, NMKRV College For Women, National College Basavangudi, National College Jayanagar and Chitrakala Parishat, an institute of fine arts.

UGC has, however, directed the colleges to retain the present curriculum for first year students, as the academic year has already commenced.

The colleges granted academic autonomy can prescribe syllabi and device teaching methods and evaluation.

“Bangalore University is handicapped by outdated and uniform syllabi, corruption and problematic results every year,” said Jesuit Fr. Ambrose Pinto, principal of St. Joseph’s College. “Academic autonomous status provides more scope for academic excellence, social concern and character formation.”

“Work overload could be another reason for erratic results,” said Sister Albina, principal of Mount Carmel College.

However, with modernised and innovative learning, students would be evaluated on continual internal assessment and semester exam.

The idea of autonomy was first recommended by the Kothari Commission Report of 1964. Tamil Nadu in southern Indian was the first state to attain this status. As per the UGC Report 2001–02, 130 autonomous colleges are spread over 29 universities. Tamilnadu–48 Madhya Pradesh–24, Andhra Pradesh–17, Orissa–17, Chhattisgarh–11, Himachal Pradesh–5, Uttar Pradesh–4, Maharashtra–3 and Gujarat–1.