Pope Grants Wider Jurisdiction for Syro-Malabar Church

Published 16 October 2017  |  
Crowning during a wedding ceremony in the Syro-Malabar Catholic Church. The main celebrant is bishop Mar Gregory Karotemprel.

Pope Francis on Oct. 10 has removed administrative restrictions on Syro-Malabar Church by establishing two new dioceses and widening the church's jurisdiction all over India.

Until now, the authority of the Syro-Malabar Church was limited to Kerala.

Shamshabad in Telengana and Hosur in Tamil Nadu are the new dioceses established for Syro-Malabar Catholics in these areas.

The pope also nominated Bishop Raphael Thattil as the first Bishop of Shamshabad and Fr Sebastian (Joby) Pozhaliparambil as the first bishop of Hosur, according to a statement signed by Bishop Theodore Mascarenhas, secretary general, Catholic Bishops' Conference of India.

Francis also extended boundaries of other two Syro-Malabar dioceses in Tamil Nadu—Ramanathapuram and Thakkala— to include areas not covered by the new Hosur diocese.

The announcements of the development were made at various places in India, reminding the bishops that the all India jurisdiction given to Syro-Malabar Church should help all dioceses to work together for the church's mission.


More News in Church

  • Presbyterian Church Demands Land in Delhi

    The leaders of Presbyterian Church of India (PCI) have submitted a memorandum to the Lt Governor of Delhi Anil Baijal, demanding a piece of land for the Khasi Jainitia Presbyterian Synod Sephngi, the largest section of Christians in the North East.